In 2008, the Federal Government of Nigeria established the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC) under the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (establishment, etc) Act, 2005.

The ICRC was established to regulate Public Private Partnership (PPP) endeavours of the Federal government aimed at addressing Nigeria’s physical infrastructure deficit which hampers economic development.

The pioneer Governing Body of ICRC was inaugurated on 27 November, 2008 by the late President Umaru Musa Yar’adua, GCFR. The pioneer Board had a former Nigerian Head of State, Chief Ernest Shonekan, as its Chairman and a seasoned technocrat, Engr. Mansur Ahmed, as its Director General from 2008 – 2012.

The immediate past ICRC Governing Board was constituted in August 2013 by former President Goodluck Jonathan, GCFR, with former Senate President, Dr. Ken Nnamani, GCON as the Chairman and  Barr. Aminu Diko as the Director General of the Commission from 2013 – 2017.

Engr. Chidi K. C. Izuwah is the current Acting Director General of the Commission.

Presidential speech at ICRC inauguration. 27 November 2008Download PDF